Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeLatestWaseem Shahzad Qadri Honored with NPF International Trade Fellowship

Waseem Shahzad Qadri Honored with NPF International Trade Fellowship


Related stories

Why International Recognition of Palestine Matters

The ongoing crisis in Gaza, marked by widespread destruction...

Did Europe’s Rules Trigger the World’s Worst IT Outage?

On a recent Friday, the world witnessed one of...

Can Kamala Harris Match Trump’s Political Prowess?

As the political landscape of the United States gears...

Pakistan’s Strategic Role in Global Climate Action at COP29

The United Nations' 29th Global Climate Change Conference (COP29)...

The Dark Side of the Ukraine Conflict

The ongoing conflict in Ukraine has seen the participation...

In a notable achievement, Mr. Waseem Shahzad Qadri has been awarded the prestigious NPF International Trade Fellowship for 2024. Qadri, a distinguished multimedia journalist and filmmaker, has earned acclaim for his award-winning reports and documentaries featured on prominent international media platforms such as the Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg TV, Al Jazeera, VOA News, Hearts Media, Ruptly, The Roar, and The Zimbabwean.

With an impressive background, Qadri has also contributed significantly to Pakistan’s mainstream media organizations. As a former fellow of the Center for Investigative Journalism (CIJ) at City University of London, and a MOJO certified journalist from CIJ and Al Jazeera Media Institute in Doha, he has trained numerous journalists in Pakistan.

The National Press Foundation (NPF) in Washington DC, in collaboration with the Hinrich Foundation in Singapore, organizes this high-level training program for journalists. In 2024, only 25 journalists were selected from various countries, following a rigorous application process in May 2024. This fellowship underscores the NPF’s dedication to fostering professional development and cross-cultural exchange amidst a dynamic global trade landscape.

The selected cohort represents a diverse array of journalistic talent from across Asia. Singapore’s representatives include Yueh Shyang Chau from Lianhe Zaobao and Jiahui Huang from Wall Street Journal/Dow Jones Newswire. From Hong Kong SAR, China, Bonnie Chen from Sing Tao News Corporation Limited, Mia Nulimaimaiti from South China Morning Post (SCMP), and Zen Soo from Associated Press have been selected.

India’s contingent features Uzmi Athar from Press Trust of India, Meena Kotwal from The Mooknayak, and Richa Pinto from The Times of India. The Philippines is represented by Michael Beltran from The News Lens International and freelance journalist Raissa Robles. Nithin Coca, a freelance journalist representing Japan, joins the cohort alongside Morshed Hassib Hasan and Tauhid Hossain from Bangladesh’s Channel 24 and Jamuna Television Limited, respectively.

Taiwan’s representatives include Yian Lee from The Reporter and Silva Shih from Commonwealth Magazine. China’s delegation comprises James Mayger and Georgina McKay from Bloomberg News, and Pallavi Sareen from The Strait Line. Cambodia is represented by Seng Mengheng from Kiripost Media, while Roni Satria represents CNN Indonesia. Waseem Shahzad Qadri from The Think Tank Journal represents Pakistan.

Vietnam’s delegates are Phuc Ta from Forbes Vietnam and Nghi Vũ from Tuoi Tre Newspaper, while Thailand is represented by freelance journalist Jitsiree Thongnoi. Singapore also has Kang Wan Chern from The Straits Times among the attendees.

Since its establishment in 1976, the National Press Foundation has been at the forefront of nurturing journalistic talent and promoting excellence in reporting. The fellowship is a testament to NPF’s unwavering commitment to providing journalists with opportunities for professional growth and development. From in-person seminars to globally accessible digital curriculums, the NPF continues to empower journalists to navigate the complexities of today’s media landscape.

News Wires
News Wireshttp://thinktank.pk
A combined Content from the leading news agencies

Latest stories




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here